Welcome Distance Learners!
This online guide will provide you with general information to HCC Library's resources and services. 
We make every effort to assist distance learners with access to research materials online.
If you have any questions or concerns that are not addressed here, please contact us. Mahalo! Visit the library's homepage.
FIND E-BOOKS: EBRARY

The HCC Library subscribes to Ebrary's Academic Collection of over 40,000 e-books (electronic books). Most subject areas are covered. All e-books are readable online from a single easy-to-use interface.
If you access e-books from off campus, you will be prompted to log in. Simply authenticate yourself by entering your last name and UH ID number.
To search additional e-book collections, click here.
FIND ARTICLES: Research Databases
Before you Google, try a library database!
- **INFO ABOUT REMOTE ACCESS**PLEASE CONTACT THE LIBRARY IF YOU ENCOUNTER DIFFICULTIES ACCESSING OUR E-RESOURCES.
- Academic Search Premier [EBSCO] This is a multi-subject databases with FULL TEXT access to more than 4,500 journals, magazines, and newspapers. Coverage: 1975 to present
- CQ ResearcherCQ Researcher reports offer in-depth, unbiased coverage of pressing issues, including but not limited to the following topical areas: health, international affairs, education, public policy, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy. 1991 to present. PRO/CON topics
- General OneFile [InfoTrac]A large general-interest database covering most subject areas with more than 12,000 titles. Includes full-text articles to over 7,100 magazines, journals, and newspapers. Coverage: 1980-present
- Health Source: Consumer Edition [EBSCO]This database provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, family violence issues, addiction, and general health.
- Literary Reference Center [EBSCO]Ideal for English and Humanities research assignments of a literary nature. LRC contains information from books, literary journals, and reference works. Info includes plot summaries and overviews, literary criticism, and more.
- Newspaper Source Plus [EBSCO]Includes more than 700 full-text newspapers. The database also features more than 699,000 television and radio news transcripts. Full text articles from the Honolulu Star Advertiser: July 23, 2010 to present.
- ProQuest: Honolulu NewspapersFull text access to Honolulu's local newspaper.
Honolulu Advertiser: November 30, 2002 - May 15, 2010
Honolulu Star-Bulletin: March 18, 1996 - June 6, 2010
Honolulu Star Advertiser: June 7, 2010 - present - ScienceDirectAccess to 2,500 SCHOLARLY JOURNALS in science, technology, and medicine. Also includes content in the social sciences. Coverage: 1995 to present
- SIRS Knowledge SourceSIRS topics cover all subject areas with resources from articles, newspapers, primary source documents, websites, maps, charts, and illustrations. Coverage: 1989 to present. Click on "SIRS Issues Researcher" for articles on PRO/CON topics.
- ALL LIBRARY DATABASES
The New York Times
Honolulu Community College Links
CABLE COURSES
Registration for cable courses require that you be a cable subscriber.
Most courses are also available as Video on Demand (VOD), maintained by UHTV.
- Video on Demand Information
- HCC Courses available on VOD
GETTING HELP
| Reference Desk | (808) 845-9199 |
| Circulation Desk | (808) 845-9221 |
| library@hcc.hawaii.edu |
Credo Reference E-books Online
Access hundreds of reference
books online at CREDO.
Search for topics across all subject areas.
This is a good resource for biographical and historical information on important people and societal issues.
STREAMING VIDEOS
FILMS ON DEMAND is a web-based digital video delivery service that allows
you to view streaming videos anytime, anywhere, 24/7. Choose from more
than 8,300 educational titles in dozens of subject areas.
Subject Guide |
Contact Info HCC Library (808) 845-9194 smyhre@hawaii.edu Links: Profile & Guides |

Loading...

Loading...
