Skip to main content

Cybersecurity: Magazines, Journals, & Articles

Library and online resources about computer and network security, plus alerts and updates about threats and breaches.

Magazines at HCC Library

Magazines are great for keeping up-to-date.

Current issues of magazines are displayed on the 1st floor.
Back issues may be requested at the Circulation Counter.

See the Serials List for more information.

Discover Magazine

Discover magazine logo
News and articles from the Discover magazine, blogs, and website, such as
"Electronics-Sniffing Dogs Help Solve Cybercrimes"

Digital Subscriptions

These digital magazines are recommended by the Honolulu CC CENT instructors. Online subscriptions are free.

Online Journals Through SCIENCE DIRECT

HCC Library subscribes to Science Direct, a scientific database of full-text journal articles and book chapters.
Browse the online journals below for articles about cybersecurity.

Note: When connecting from off-campus, use the UH Login Service - you will be prompted to enter your University of Hawai'i username and password.

Computers & Security journal     Digital Investigation journal

Computer Fraud & Security journal      Network Security journal   

 

Research Databases: EBSCOHost

EbscoHost logo
Find articles from magazines, newspapers, journals, and reference books.
Suggested searches:

Computer security
Network security

When connecting from off-campus, use the UH Login Service - enter your University of Hawai'i username and password.

SIRS Knowledge Source

SIRS includes four full-text databases that can be searched individually or in combination: Issues Researcher, Government Reporter, Renaissance, and WebSelect. SIRS has articles, primary source documents, websites, maps, charts, and illustrations.
For example, see these topics:

SIRS

Science Direct

Science Direct database

Research Databases: Gale InfoTrac

InfoTrac logo

Find articles from magazines, newspapers, journals, and reference books.
Suggested searches:
   Cybersecurity
   Data security
   Internet security

When connecting from off-campus, use the UH Web Login Service with your UH username and password.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context covers today's "hot topics" with news, articles, audio and/or video, and links to websites. Different views are presented so we can understand all sides of a topic.

For example:

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher offers original reports on current issues. These reports include an overview, different viewpoints, and pro-con debates.
For example, you may be interested in:

CQ Researcher

More Research Databases

Networking Security

Networking Security is an online magazine "where IT security and physical security converge.".

Honolulu Community College Library
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: honcclib@hawaii.edu Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library