This book offers a scientifically grounded overview of the science, manufacture, and culture of vaccines in the United States and internationally. Aiming to offer an unbiased resource on this hotly debated subject, it provides accessible, authoritative overviews...
Since the rise of artificial formula, we have turned a biological process into a never-ending controversy: A mother breastfeeding her three-year-old son on the cover of Time magazine sets off a firestorm...Unlatched uncovers astonishing cultural, corporate, political, and technological factors at the heart of our contemporary breastfeeding disconnection.
Through incredible high-resolution microscope images, Food Forensics shows us what we can't see on our own and test levels of lead, arsenic, cadmium, mercury, and more in common foods and additives, from cereals, soups, and other pre-packaged meals to fast food and medicinal herbs. Adams's tests reveal the differences between organic and non-organic foods, GMO and non-GMO certified foods, and more...
Co-sleeping - parents and children sharing a bed - can be a fraught topic for parents. Some experts recommend parents never bring children into bed with them, while other experts extol the benefits of parents and children sharing a sleep space. Given the importance of sleep to our well-being, the topic can generate such strong feelings...
In the two hundred years since we discovered that microbes cause infectious diseases, we've battled to keep them at bay. But a recent explosion of scientific knowledge has led to undeniable evidence that early exposure to these organisms is beneficial to a child's well-being. The authors explain how the trillions of microbes that live in and on our bodies influence childhood development; why an imbalance of those microbes can lead to obesity, diabetes, and asthma, among other chronic conditions; and what parents can do--from conception on--to positively affect their own behaviors and those of their children.
Written in an informal, accessible style, this practical book equips future teaching professionals to effectively support emotional well-being, reduce problem behavior, and enhance social competence in toddlers, pre-schoolers, and primary-grade children.
Award-winning writers Barbara Kaiser and Judy Sklar Rasminksy have penned the most up-to-date resource for pre- and in-service teachers struggling with the answers to understanding, preventing, and addressing challenging behavior in primary grades and in preschools or child care centers.
Social-emotional learning is key to every child's ability to manage feelings and to interact successfully with others. Early childhood educators say this skill set is as essential to school readiness as the academic learning areas.
The skills for working with young children are presented in 13 easily-readable, fact-filled chapters, each of which is based on one of the CDA "functional areas": safe, healthy, learning environment, physical, cognitive, communication, creative, self-concept, social, guidance, family, program management, and professionalism.
This fifth edition covers the basics of screening used to identify which children may have learning problems or disabilities. Offers advice for selecting an appropriate screening instrument and for setting up a screening program.
This series of checklists covers six components of wellness--nutrition and healthy eating habits; physical activity and fitness; emotional health and resilience; healthy care practices; safety and risk management; and leadership, management, and administration.
This groundbreaking book helps your community establish an effective early detection system that's comprehensive and low-cost; encourages close collaboration among health, social service, and educational agencies; and meets each child's whole continuum of needs, from universal screening to community services.
Preventing Childhood Obesity in Early Care and Education Programs is the new set of national standards describing evidence-based best practices in nutrition, physical activity, and screen time for early care and education programs.
The completely updated and expanded new edition of this well-established text incorporates DSM-5 changes as well as other new developments. The all-in-one guide covers the whole range of often co-existing neuro-behavioral disorders in children...
Beginning your research - definitions and topics simply explained
A user-friendly search tool that provides online access to hundreds of full-text reference ebooks (subject encyclopedias, handbooks, dictionaries) from the world's best publishers. Covers all subjects.