Skip to main content

Domestic Violence: Articles & Databases

Library and Internet resources about domestic violence and family abuse

ONLINE DATABASES

Use HCC Library's online databases for articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals, and for reports, images (e.g., photographs and charts), and chapters from reference books.    Note: When connecting from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in with your University of Hawai'i username and password.

CQ Researcher

Connect to CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher
offers topical reports on current issues. The reports are researched and written by experienced journalists and provide background information, pro-con discussions, and descriptions of the current situation.

CQ Researcher report: Domestic Violence

Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Connect to Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (OVIC) covers current, often-controversial topics. It contains different viewpoints on issues, pro-con debates, news, articles, and overview information. In addition, there may be graphics, statistics, primary source documents, and biographies. OVIC includes many essays from the Opposing Viewpoints books from Greenhaven Press.

For example, see these issues:

Penn State student holds purple ribbon for victims of child abusePenn State students with a purple ribbon to support victims of abuse, 2011.
Photo by Archie Carpenter. "Penn State Students Show Their Support For Victims In State College." UPI Photo Collection. 2011. Opposing Viewpoints in Context.

http://ic.galegroup.com/ic/ovic/ImagesDetailsPage/ImagesDetailsWindow?...

SIRS Knowledge Source

Connect to SIRS
SIRS Knowledge Source (SKS) includes 4 databases: SIRS Issues Researcher, SIRS Government Reporter, SIRS Renaissance, and SIRS WebSelect. All of the articles are full-text. Photos, maps, and links to websites are also available.

For example, start with these SIRS pages:

ProQuest Honolulu Newspapers

Connect to ProQuest Find articles about domestic violence and family violence in Hawaii.

Peter-Boy Kema with his grandma
Charges in the disappearance of Peter-Boy Kema were finally brought in 2016, after 19 years.
Photo courtesy of James and Yolanda Acol.
Fujimori, Leila. "Parents Arrested, Charged with Murdering 'Peter Boy'." Honolulu Star-Advertiser.29 Apr. 2016. ProQuest.
http://hccproxy.lib.hawaii.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.proquest.com/docview/1785455864/26D4620B4BBA42B7PQ/3?accountid=66155accountid=66155

ImageQuest

Encyclopaedia Britannica ImageQuest is a collection of 3 million photographs and illustrations.
A mother uses a phone booth as she and her baby flee an abusive home.
A young mother uses a public phone as she and her baby flee from an abusive home.
Photo by Jim Varney.."Domestic violence." Photography. Enyclopaedia Britannica ImageQuest.
http://hccproxy.lib.hawaii.edu:2048/login?url=http://quest.eb.com/images/132_1266684

EbscoHOST

EbscoHOST

Gale/InfoTrac

Honolulu Community College Library
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: honcclib@hawaii.edu Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library