Skip to main content

History 152 - World History II (Patterson): Find Articles

Online Articles (Research Databases)

Before you Google, begin your research with the library's subscription databases.  These databases will help you locate full text  journal, magazine, and newspaper articles as well as maps, images, and primary source documents.  Each database contains different journals, so you will get different results in each.  If you don't find an article that interests you in one database, try another.  Read the description of the database to help you decide which ones to use.  It is highly recommended that JSTOR and Academic Search Complete are used in addition to other databases.

*If you access the databases from off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your UH username & password.

History Reference Center

Search Tips

  • DO NOT type sentences into search boxes.  Use words or phrases (see examples below)
  • AND, OR, NOT: use to narrow or broaden your search
    • cyber bullying AND suicide (results have all words - narrow)
    • natural disasters NOT hurricanes (results exclude word after NOT - narrow)
    • “BP oil spill” ORDeepwater Horizon oil spill” (results have either concept - broaden)
  • (*): use to broaden your search or find similar forms of words
    • Hawaii* = Hawaii, Hawaiian, Hawaiians
  • “”: use to search for phrases or words you want to appear together in your results
    • “freedom of speech” or “origin of life”
  • Try using the Advanced Search, you'll have more options.
  • Limit documents to FULL TEXT when available.
Honolulu Community College Library
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: honcclib@hawaii.edu Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library