Skip to main content

English 100 (Gima): Finding Articles

Hawaii/Pacific Article Databases

Before you Google, begin your research with the library's subscription databases. These databases will help you locate full text  journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.

*If you access these electronic resources from off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your UH username and password.

National/International Article Databases

Before you Google, begin your research with the library's subscription databases. These databases will help you locate full text  journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.

*If you access these electronic resources from off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your UH username and password.

Online Newspapers

Many newspapers do not provide the full article online.  Here are a few that do.  If you want to find articles from Hawaii newspapers you need to use ProQuest.  The library has already paid for access to those articles.

Search Tips

  • DO NOT type sentences into search boxes.  Use words or phrases (see examples below)
  • AND, OR, NOT: use to narrow or broaden your search
    • cyber bullying AND suicide (results have all words - narrow)

    • natural disasters NOT hurricanes (results exclude word after NOT - narrow)

    • polar bears OR grizzly bears (results have either concept - broaden)

  • (*): use to broaden your search or find similar forms of words
    • Hawaii* = Hawaii, Hawaiian, Hawaiians
  • “”: use to search for phrases or words you want to appear together in your results
    • “black death” or “global warming”
Honolulu Community College Library
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: honcclib@hawaii.edu Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library