Skip to main content

Sociology: Articles

Scholarly/Academic Peer-Reviewed Articles

Before you Google, begin your research with the library's subscription databases. These databases will help you locate full text scholarly journal articles.

*If you access these electronic resources from off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your UH username and password.

Hawaii/Pacific Article Databases

Before you Google, begin your research with the library's subscription databases. These databases will help you locate journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.

*If you access these electronic resources from off campus, you will be prompted to log in with your UH username and password.

Science Reference Center

Points of View Reference Center

Search Tips

  • DO NOT type sentences into search boxes.  Use words or phrases (see examples below)
  • AND, OR, NOT: use to narrow or broaden your search
    • cyber bullying AND suicide (results have all words - narrow)
    • natural disasters NOT hurricanes (results exclude word after NOT - narrow)
    • “BP oil spill” ORDeepwater Horizon oil spill” (results have either concept - broaden)
  • (*): use to broaden your search or find similar forms of words
    • Hawaii* = Hawaii, Hawaiian, Hawaiians
  • “”: use to search for phrases or words you want to appear together in your results
    • “freedom of speech” or “origin of life”
  • Try using the Advanced Search, you'll have more options.
  • Limit documents to FULL TEXT when available.

Magazine vs. Journal...What's the difference?

MAGAZINES JOURNALS
Its purpose is to
inform or entertain
Its aim is to report on scholarly research
Articles typically short in length Longer articles with in-depth analysis
Written by a reporter,
journalist, or staff writer
Written by a scholarly expert
or specialist (credentials provided)
Articles are reviewed
by editorial staff
Articles are peer-reviewed
& critically evaluated by scholars
Little or no references are included as support Sources are always cited
in a formal bibliography
Slick & attractive in appearance with advertisements & glossy photos Very structured format: abstract, methodology, literature review,
results, conclusion. No frills.
Examples: Psychology Today US News and World Report,
Time Magazine

Examples: New England Journal of Medicine, Psychology Journal, Psychology, Crime & Law

Honolulu Community College Library
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: honcclib@hawaii.edu Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library