Skip to main content

Muslim Journeys: Databases

The Bridging Cultures Bookshelf: Muslim Journeys is a collection of books, films, and database resources to familiarize us with Islam and the cultural heritage of Islamic civilizations around the world.

JSTOR

JSTOR is a comprehensive full-text database of approximately 400 scholarly journals in the humanities, arts, social sciences, and more. HCC Library subscribes to JSTOR's Arts & Sciences I and V collections. These collections focus on literature, language, and history.

Journal titles extend back to their earliest issues. Full text varies by publication; the most recent 3-5 years may not available.

When connecting to EBSCOhost from off-campus, use the UH Login Service - enter your University of Hawaii username and password.

Britannica Image Quest

Britannica Image Quest

Image Quest offers approximately three million rights-cleared images for non-commercial educational use.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online (OISO)

The Oxford Islamic Studies Online (OISO) was available to Honolulu Community College through the Muslim Journeys grant until February 28, 2014.
Mahalo to Oxford University Press for the year of learning and exploration.

Calligraphy in the shape of a mosque
Calligraphy in the shape of a mosque

Schimmel, Annemarie . "Calligraphy and Epigraphy." In The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World. Ed. John L. Esposito. Oxford Islamic Studies Online. Web. 25-Feb-2013. <http://www.oxfordislamicstudies.com/article/opr/t236MIW/e0133/images/0195148037.calligraphy-and-epigraphy.5.gif>.

EBSCOhost Databases

The EBSCOhost Religion and Philosophy Collection covers history, current events, denominations, and philosophies of world religions. It includes over 300 full-text journals.

Academic Search Complete is a multi-subject database with indexing and abstracts for over 12,500 journals and periodicals, with full-text for more than 8,500. Coverage is from 1887 to the present.

EBSCOhost logo

When connecting to EBSCOhost from off-campus, use the UH Login Service - enter your University of Hawaii username and password.

 

InfoTrac Databases

With the Gale Religion and Philosophy Collection students can research different religions, philosophies and how they impact daily life. Coverage is from 1980 to the present.

General OneFile is a comprehensive, general-interest database of over 8,000 full-text sources, including journals, magazines, newspapers, and transcripts of National Public Radio programs. Coverage extends back 25 years.

InfoTrac

When connecting to InfoTrac from off-campus, use the UH Login Service - enter your University of Hawaii username and password.

Credo Reference

Credo Reference Credo Reference offers an online collection of reference books, including
Need to Know? Islam
and The Qur'an.
There are also images and links to other HCC Library databases and books.

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher offers comprehensive reports on issues concerning Muslims in the U.S. and worldwide.

SIRS Knowledge Source

SIRS Databases

SIRS Knowledge Source (SKS) includes 4 databases: SIRS Issues Researcher, SIRS Government Reporter, SIRS Renaissance, and SIRS WebSelect. All of the articles are full-text. Photos, maps, and links to websites are also available.

Ancient at University of Birmingham

On July 22, 2015, the University of Birmingham in Great Britain announced that scientific tests showed that a Quran manuscript in its collection is one of the oldest known and perhaps dates back to the time of the Prophet Muhammad.

Your Librarian

Nadine Leong-Kurio's picture
Nadine Leong-Kurio
Contact:
Honolulu Community College Library
874 Dillingham Blvd.
Honolulu, HI 96817

808-845-9198
Honolulu Community College Library
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: honcclib@hawaii.edu Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library