Skip to main content

Research Challenge (Nakamoto-Levine): More Help with MLA Style

This resource guide will assist students in completing their Research Challenge assignment for HIST 151/152 or AMST 150.

MLA STYLE GUIDE, 7th Ed.

MLA Style Guide & Examples

Please note that all citation entries should be double-spaced; the examples provided below are single-spaced to save room in this online guide.

Citing Books 

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. City of Publication: Publisher, Year.
         Type of Material.

Hawthorne, Nathaniel. The Scarlet Letter. New York: Modern Library, 1950.
          Print.

Citing Magazine Articles, Print

Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine  Day Month Year:
        pages. Type of Material.  

Hitchens, Christopher. "Bring the Pope to Justice." Newsweek 3 May 2010:
         42-43. Print.

Citing Magazine Articles, Online/Web
[Finish entry with 'date of access' (Day Month Year) for online publications.]

Marano, Hara E. "The Expectations Trap." Psychology Today 1 Mar. 2010.
        Web. 19 July 2010. 

Citing Magazine Articles, Online/Library Database
[The title of the database is included and italicized.]

Shapiro, Bruce. "The Executioner's Last Song." Nation 13 Apr. 2009: 5. Academic
        Search Premier
. Web. 8 June 2009.

Citing Scholarly Journal Articles, Print

Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Journal Volume number.Issue
        number (Year): pages. Type of Material.

Molina, Natalia. "In A Race All Their Own: The Quest to Make Mexicans Ineligible
        for U.S. Citizenship." Pacific Historical Review 79.2 (2010): 167-201. Print.

Citing Scholarly Journal Articles, Online

Hardie, Melissa J. "The Closet Remediated: Inside Lindsay Lohan." Australian
        Humanities Review
48. (2010): 55-70. Web. 23 June 2010. 

Citing Scholarly Journal Articles, Online/Library Database

Jordan, Stuart. "Defending Climate Science Today." The Humanist 70.4 (2010): 16-

         21. General OneFile. Web. 20 July 2010.

Citing Newspaper Articles, Print

Perez, Rob. "City Pushes to Keep Its Elevated-Rail Plan." Honolulu Advertiser
         18 Jan. 2010: B1+. Print. 

Citing Newspaper Articles, Online/Library Database

Liptak, Adam. "Clashes on Free Speech Set Up Title Fight on Same-Sex Marriage."
        New York Times 20 Apr. 2010: A12. SIRS Researcher. Web. 20 July 2010.

Citing Websites*

Author. "Title of the Web Page." Title of the Overall Web Site. Version or Edition.

         Publisher or Sponsor, Date. Web. Date of Access.

Landau, Elizabeth. "CDC: Swine Flu Viruses in U.S. and Mexico Match." CNN

         Health.com. Cable News Network, 25 Apr. 2009. Web. 17 June 2009.

"The Norwegian Pirate Whaling Fleet." Sea Shepherd. Sea Shepherd Conservation

         Society, 2009. Web. 17 June 2009.

         <http://www.seashepherd.org/whales/norway.html>.

*Note: The MLA Handbook (7th ed.) advises that URLs are no longer required when citing web publications. They may be included as "supplementary information only when the reader probably cannot locate the source without it or when your instructor requires it." (p. 182)

Indent all lines after the first line of each entry. Alphabetize your Works Cited list by the author's last name. Refer to the library's MLA handout for more information and examples.

Need to check your citations? Use the MLA Handbook!

MLA Citation Help Links

Need more help understanding how to cite using MLA style? The links below include flash videos/tutorials and useful web sites.

In-text Citations (Paranthetical Documentation)

"References in the text must clearly point to specific sources in the list of works cited." - MLA Handbook, 7 ed.

In MLA style you briefly credit sources with parenthetical citations in the text of your paper. Generally, a parenthetical citation includes the author's last name and the page number(s) of the information used: (Smith 127)
For specific examples of parenthetical documentation, refer to the
OWL at Purdue University.

Honolulu Community College Library
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: honcclib@hawaii.edu Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library