The Massie-Kahahawai case of 1931-1932 shook the Territory of Hawai'i to its very core. Thalia Massie, a young Navy wife, alleged that she had been kidnapped and raped by "some Hawaiian boys" in Waikiki. A few days later, five young men stood accused of her rape.
Local Story is a close examination of how Native Hawaiians, Asian immigrants, and others responded to challenges posed by the military and federal government during the case's investigation and aftermath. In addition to providing a concise account of events as they unfolded, the book shows how this historical narrative has been told and retold in later decades to affirm a local identity among descendants of working-class Native Hawaiians, Asians, and others--in fact, this understanding of the term "local" in the islands dates from the Massie-Kahahawai case.
Author John P. Rosa is assistant professor of history at the University of Hawai'i at Manoa.
From a look at classics like Psycho and Double Indemnity to recent films like Traffic and Thelma & Louise, the authors show that criminological theory is produced not only in the academy, through scholarly research, but also in popular culture, through film.
Drawing on years of work with thousands of children, Judge Sullivan presents a plan for breaking the vicious cycle of child abuse and crime that causes such tragedies. Through eye-opening stories from both her own courtroom and the system at large, Judge Irene reveals what works for young people in jeopardy. The results are surprisingly optimistic: few would have guessed that the most successful programs are also among the most cost-effective and practical.
Much of the legal process depends on careful documentation and the crucial information that lies within, but most law enforcement, security, corrections, and probation and parole officers have not had adequate training in how to provide well-written, accurate, brief, and complete reports. Report Writing for Criminal Justice Professionals covers everything officers need to learn--from basic English grammar to the difficult but often-ignored problem of creating documentation that will hold up in court.
This book offers both recruits and experienced officers a wealth of information about report writing. Chapter topics include organizing and writing professional reports, sentence skills, bullet style, avoiding usage errors, and the specialized vocabulary needed for report writing. Sample reports are included. Exercises are provided throughout the book, and an Answer Key allows you to check your progress at each step.
The text reflects the most recent investigative techniques and technology and features real-life case studies to help students develop their ability to analyze, evaluate, and reason. Its approach is concise and manageable and this edition includes a new chapter on the evolution of policing and investigation, four new case studies, and new review questions to reinforce each concept.
The author applies public health concepts to compare the structure of modern incarceration systems to epidemics from the past. He describes two classic epidemics--cholera in nineteenth-century London and AIDS in twentieth-century New York--to show how the concept and tools of epidemiology work, and explains the anatomy of a major epidemic; the start of mass incarceration in New York State; how the rates of imprisoned people in recent decades show the features of plagues from previous centuries; the impact of incarceration on individuals, their children, and families; and how imprisonment has become a social issue requiring a public health approach.
Distressing, disturbing, devastatingly detailed--this examination of how modern laws are diminishing America exposes the drawbacks of rule-bound government, tells why nothing gets done, reveals the phony pretensions of law, and shows why well-intentioned laws have actually devalued rights. In short, this book demonstrates how the buck never stops and how well-meaning laws are creating a nation of enemies.
A provocative exploration of how the legal system's response to domestic violence developed, why that response is flawed, and what we should do to change it. This title imagines a legal system based on anti-essentialist principles and suggests ways to look beyond the system to help women find justice and economic stability, engage men in the struggle to end abuse, and develop community accountability for abuse. EBOOK access
In this book, two leading scholars in law and adolescent development offer a comprehensive and pragmatic way forward. They argue that juvenile justice should be grounded in the best available psychological science, which shows that adolescence is a distinctive state of cognitive and emotional development. Although adolescents are not children, they are also not fully responsible adults. They offer a new approach to juvenile justice, based on their exploration of research not available when the punitive laws now in effect were enacted and on their review of current legal standards.
Intended as a portable reference source, and contains the full text of the Hawaii Rules of Evidence and the Federal Rules of Evidence. For the convenience of the user, both the restyled and traditional Federal Rules are included.
Covering developmental, legal, medical, and school issues, The Transgender Child is a comprehensive, first-of-its-kind guidebook for the unique challenges that thousands of families face raising children who step outside of the pink or blue box.
Strong working relationships with diverse families and children are the foundatiuon of successful early intervention. Discover fresh, practical ways to build these relationships in this essential guidebook, every professional's blueprint for working with children and families within the specific context of their culture, family structure, and risk factors.
The authors move the dialogue about culturally diverse families to a new level by topically discussing the issues affecting culturally diverse families rather than organizing the information by racial and or ethnic groups.
Dr. JoAnne Pedro-Carroll explains with clarity and compassion in this powerful book, parents can positively alter the immediate and long-term effects of divorce on their children. The key is proven, emotionally intelligent parenting strategies that promote children's emotional health, resilience, and ability to lead satisfying lives.
This book is considered a landmark work on the social significance of childhood. The author, Erik H. Erickson, examines the relationships between childhood training and cultural accomplishment, analyzing the infantile and the mature, the modern and the archaic elements in human motivation.
In this book the author offers insights and advice that can help parents achieve greater understanding, authority, and confidence as they come up against the tech revolution and how families can combat the disconnection we are experiencing from our extreme device dependence.
A look at the parents and over two million children in the United States affected by current incarceration policy. [Arrest --- Sentencing --- Visiting --- Grandparents --- Foster care --- Reentry --- Legacy]
Drawing from the literature on ability, class, culture, ethnicity, gender, languages, race, and sexual orientation, this book presents a forward-looking account of how diversity could improve the educational experience of children from birth to age three.
Using the landmark National Early Literacy Panel (NELP) Report as a starting point, this accessible book breaks the report down into key takeaways, recommends future directions in policy and practice, and tackles emerging issues and new research not addressed in the NELP report.
The teachers and classrooms portrayed here provide young children with rich educational experiences that empower them to understand themselves in relation to others. You will see how amazing teachers engage in culturally responsive teaching that fosters educational equity while also meeting state and national standards (such as the Common Core State Standards).
Future educators will get a thorough introduction to inclusion supports: evidence-based practices and strategies that help children with disabilities fully participate in preschool classrooms. With a strong emphasis on collaboration among all members of the education team, this text leads professionals step by step through every aspect of successful preschool inclusion, from designing an effective program to preparing all children for a smooth transition to kindergarten.
With an interactive, teacher-friendly approach, this comprehensive handbook includes new information on national mandates affecting special education and a wealth of teaching strategies supported by the latest research. Developed for primary and secondary general education and special education teachers.
This book outlines adaptable strategies that caregivers of children younger than the age of three need to feel confident that they know how language develops, how cultural differences can come into play, and how to assess an individual child's situation to provide appropriate support.
Based on research and the author's experience as a multilingual educator, Dual-Language Learners provides a thoughtful approach to help young children learn English, maintain their home language, and develop the skiils necessary for school readiness and success.
Many programs and providers still struggle to coordinate screening efforts so children who need services don't slip through the cracks. Integrated, community-wide screening and early detection/Child Find systems are the answer - and this is the first book with the systematic guidance and specific information you need to develop your own system or strengthen your existing system.
Children with parents in the military face unfamiliar and complicated emotions. This comprehensive handbook is for civilians and military personnel who work with or care for children who experience separation through deployment, death, or divorce.
In addition to updated information on physical distribution, generating publicity, marketing, and promotion, it also has new information about key issues including: balancing on- and offline promotion and marketing; making the most of online resources; using digital distribution profitably; licensing your recordings for use in the media; marketing music overseas.
The text covers all types of craft from flat-bottom rowboats to ocean cruisers and commercial vessels, and aids the builder in overcoming difficulties and discouraging delays resulting from the lack of easily available information on the practical side of boatbuilding.
Acclaimed author and naval architect Dave Gerr created this unique system of easy-to-use scantling rules and rules-of-thumb for calculating the necessary dimensions, or scantlings, of hulls, decks, and other boat parts, whether built of fiberglass, wood, wood-epoxy composite, steel, or aluminum.
Since its first publication in 1970, Boatbuilding Manual has become the standard reference in boatbuilding and boat design schools, in the offices of professional builders, and in the basement workshops of home builders.
Detailed photo sequences and step-by-step instructions for repairing or laying teak decks, refurbishing an old keel or rudder, installing new windows and hatches, fitting headlining, replacing deck fittings, stripping down winches or modernising the galley.
With intricate two-color cutaway drawings of eighty different systems and devices, as well as detailed explanations of how they’re assembled, how they work, and how they can go wrong, this book covers every primary component of your boat's inner workings.