An iconic figure in the history of rock and pop culture (inducted not once but twice into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame), Neil Young has written his eagerly awaited memoir.
Neil Young's storied career has spanned more than forty years and yielded some of the modern era's most enduring music. In this memoir, Young reflects upon his life--from his Canadian childhood to his part in the sixties rock explosion with Buffalo Springfield and Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young, through his later career with Crazy Horse and numerous private challenges. Waging Heavy Peace is as uncompromising and unforgettable as the man himself.
This “oral autobiography” of Jimmy Page, the intensely private mastermind behind Led Zeppelin—one of the most enduring bands in rock history—is the most complete and revelatory portrait of the legendary guitarist ever published.
In Rev 2, Mixerman distills a successful mixing career's worth of lessons and realizations into understandable and sensible terms for both enthusiastic musican and professional technician alike. As Mixerman points out, 'If you change how you think about mixing, you'll be well on your way to learning how to mix.' This new edition features an updated 'Gear' chapter.
Featuring over 100 readings from a wide range of sources and writers, this book provides a rich and engaging introduction to the development of American popular music and the important social and cultural issues raised by its study. The third edition brings together a vast array of selections from sources that include mainstream and specialized magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, interviews, and autobiographies of musicians and other music industry insiders.
Grunge isn't dead---but was it every truly alive? Twenty years after the height of the movement, this book redefines grunge as we know it. Stephen Tow takes a second look at the music and community that vaulted the likes of Nirvana, Pearl Jam, Mudhoney, and Soundgarden to international fame. Chock-full of interviews with the starring characters, Tow extensively chronicles the rise of rock 'n' roll's last great statement and contextualizes what the music really meant to the key players.
This title provides key industry insight for both new and experienced artist managers, plus exclusive planning guidance, current management tools, and successful career strategies for managers and the artists they manage. You will learn to prepare yourself for a career in artist management and become skilled with the tools to coach, lead, organize time, manage finance, market an artist, and carve out the successful career path for both yourself and your clients. This is essential reading for managers, students, and artists in the music business.
Traces the cultural and technological evolution of recording studios in the United States from the first practical devices to the modern multi-track studios of the analog era. Charting the technical development of studio equipment, the professionalization of recording engineers, and the growing collaboration between artists and technicians, she shows how the earliest efforts to capture the sound of live performances eventually resulted in a trend toward studio creations that extended beyond live shows, ultimately reversing the historic relationship between live and recorded sound.
A practical graphic design and layout guide that introduces the concepts and practices necessary for producing effective visual communication across a variety of formats--from web to print. This beautifully illustrated, full-color book covers all of the basics to help you develop your eye and produce evocative designs that work.
Typography is an obsession for most designers. It's at the heart of all visual communication and is one of the purest forms of design, one that can always be improved and refined. This book gets into the minds of designers who create typefaces, word images and logos through their private sketchbooks. The result of these wide-ranging typographic musings provide fascinating insights into the expressive quality of letters and words.
This is the ultimate stylistic guide to the intricacies and design of 100 indispensable typefaces. A delightful, colorful, and visual reference guide created by Stephen Coles and Tony Seddon---two acknowledged pros in the font design world---The Anatomy of Type was developed with typographers, graphic designers, and font geeks in mind, graphically and visually expanding on the current font-mania.
Less than half of construction firms are still in business after four years. Find out what it takes to build all aspects of a business that’s profitable, enjoyable, and enduring. Whether you’re a contractor, a key employee, a subcontractor, a student, or a facility executive, you’ll find many ideas you can immediately add to your management and leadership toolbox.
For a construction business to function properly, architects, engineers, and contractors need to understand how the various state and federal laws affect their business and how to avoid disputes and exposure to liability. This book offers a comprehensive review of the US legal environment, both criminal and civil, focusing on the key legal concepts and issues applicable to a typical construction project.
By showing how the Americans with Disabilities Act Accessibility Guidelines (ADAAG) has been applied in various contexts and building types, this illustrated book helps readers quickly understand the requirements of the ADAAG. Building types covered include healthcare facilities, elementary schools, hospitality facilities, office buildings, college and university facilities, retail and mixed-use facilities, performing arts facilities, and senior living. The author will note both new construction and renovations. The author, an architect, consults regularly on accessibility issues for clients including design professionals, building owners, and facility managers.
The Sixth Edition continues to claim distinction as the foremost text on construction specifications. This new edition uses real-world document examples that reflect current writing practices shaped by the well-established principles and requirements of major professional associations, including the American Institute of Architects (AIA), the Engineers Joint Contract Documents Committee (EJCDC), and the Construction Specifications Institute (CSI).
Offering practical advice and tested techniques, this book serves as the first and only building information modeling (BIM) integration guide for the construction industry. You’ll explore crucial construction tasks such as estimating, staging, sustainability testing, multiple model trade coordination, and digital detail resolution. In addition, the book also looks at facility management models and offers a clear picture of how the featured tools, techniques, and workflows can benefit each discipline.
Air conditioners-repairs and installation, walk-in coolers/freezers, refrigerator, water coolers, salad bars, open and closed refrigerated cases, ice machines, step-by-step retrofit instructions for SUVA refrigerant.
A state-of-the-art training for using machine tools in manufacturing technology, including up-to-date coverage of computer numerical control (CNC). It includes an overview of machine trades and career opportunities followed by theory and application. The text is structured to provide coverage of tools and measurement, machining tools and procedures, drilling and milling machines, computer-aided machining, and metallurgy.
The ideal book for students and beginning technicians, this book provides readers with the basic electrical principles necessary to understand today's modern control systems. The book's practical approach allows readers to focus exclusively on the electronics information they will use in the field, without bogging them down in unnecessary theory.
Written to help aspiring technicians with no electrical experience or training to understand the operation of HVACR electrical circuits. The text avoids theoretical discussions of circuits in order to focus on its main goal–showing students how to diagnose and solve electrical problems in HVACR systems.
This book is a complete modern guide to sheet metal forming processes and die design – still the most commonly used methodology for the mass-production manufacture of aircraft, automobiles, and complex high-precision parts.
Concentrating on simple, practical methods, this book will be an invaluable resource for anyone looking for detailed information about die design and the manufacture of stamping dies, particularly practicing die designers, press engineers, tool and die maintenance technicians, students of die design, and advanced apprentice die makers.
Nikola Tesla was a major contributor to the electrical revolution that transformed daily life at the turn of the twentieth century. His inventions, patents, and theoretical work formed the basis of modern AC electricity, and contributed to the development of radio and television. Like his competitor Thomas Edison, Tesla was one of America's first celebrity scientists, enjoying the company of New York high society and dazzling the likes of Mark Twain with his electrical demonstra-tions. An astute self-promoter and gifted showman, he cultivated a public image of the eccentric genius. This major biography sheds new light on Tesla's visionary approach to invention and the business strategies behind his most important technological breakthroughs.
Transforming a culture is far more about emotional growth than technical maturity. Co-written by leaders at the Kaizen Institute, this book explains how to enable an adaptive, excellent, and sustainable organization by leveraging core kaizen values and the behaviors they generate. Real-world examples demonstrate kaizen culture in action at Toyota, Zappos, Wiremold, and many other companies.
This study chronicles the success of the Japanese car in America. Starting with Japan's first gasoline-powered car, the Takuri, it examines early Japanese inventors and automotive conditions in Japan; the arrival of Japanese cars in California in the late 1950s; American consumer and media reactions; obstacles the manufacturers faced; initial sales; and how the cars gained popularity through shrewd marketing and engineering excellence. Toyota, Honda, Datsun (Nissan), Mazda, Subaru, Isuzu, and Mitsubishi are profiled individually from their origins through the present.
Based on extensive research in archival collections generated by the three companies. Residing in large part in the DaimlerChrysler Corporate Collection, these sources have been seldom tapped by other scholars before this volume. Auto historians and readers interested in business history will enjoy this book.
This book traces the full history of noise in and around cars, shows how we created auditory privacy in our cars. It is about the sounds of car engines, tires, wipers, blinkers, warning signals, in-car audio systems and, ultimately, about how we became used to listen while driving.
The most complete how-to-book on automotive custom painting and airbrushing ever published. Including the most current and advanced airbrush effects, this volume is a perfect launching pad for beginning artists, and a superior elite playbook and reference guide for airbrush and refinish professionals. In this book you'll learn, step-by-step, how to paint cars, bikes, trucks, motorchcle helmets, guitars, drums, RC car bodies, surfboards, and metal panels
Complete coverage of the parts, operation, design, and troubleshooting of brake systems. Real examples and full color images throughout the text offer readers a practical approach to the diagnosis and repair of the NATEF tasks for the Automotive Brake Systems (A5) content area. Thoroughly revised and updated, the sixth edition has been peer reviewed by automotive instructors and experts in the field to ensure technical accuracy.
An easy to follow guide for all majors to help you launch your career in any job market. In just four chapters, you will learn tips and tactics to attract the attention of an employer and win the competition with other candidates to get the job you want.
A collection of superior professionally written resumes aimed at service members who are leaving the military and looking for a civilian job. This book gives resume strategies as well as 180 pages of sample resumes specifically written for people making the leap back into the private sector.
Here you'll find the most complete and up-to-date collection of model business correspondence for every conceivable occasion-sample letters, memos, and e-mails you can use as is or adapt for your own purposes. This invaluable reference contains more than 300 model letters with instructions for adapting each to your particular situation.