Skip to main content

Hawaiian Literature Resources (HAW261 & HWST270): MAGAZINES & NEWSPAPERS

Literary and cultural resources & information. Includes myths, legends, tales, and more..

Magazines in the Library

Library Magazine Subscriptions

The library subscribes to a wide variety of print magazines and newspapers. The two most current issues are on the display rack.

Back issues of selected print periodicals can be requested at the Circulation Counter.

Some titles may be accessible online or in microfilm format. See a Reference Librarian for more help.

General Research Databases

Paradise of the Pacific Magazine

Paradise of the Pacific -
Hawaii's illustrated monthly magazine, established in 1888 under the sponsorship of King Kalakaua. Published from January 1888 to May/June 1966. Archives of this magazine are available in the library in microfilm format only.

Vols. 6-15 of Paradise of the Pacific are online in Google Books.

This title continues as Honolulu magazine (July 1966 - present); older print issues can be requested at the Circulation counter.

How do I search for articles in Paradise of the Pacific?

The Hawaii Pacific Journal Index (HPJI) includes citations to more than 140 journal and magazine titles that focus on Hawaiʻi and the Pacific. Covering all subject areas, many of these are not indexed anywhere else. 
Use this online index to search for articles WITHIN particular magazines, such as Paradise of the Pacific. (Select "Hawaii Pacific Journal Index" from the Databases & Indexes menu.) Note: Advanced Search is recommended.

Finding Magazine & Newspaper Articles

Thrum's Hawaiian Almanac and Annual...

Full-text of the Hawaiian Almanac published annually 1875-1923. Includes statistical reports, directories, and articles on many topics, like histories and photos of places. This comprehensive guide is compiled and maintained through the UH Manoa Library.

Early Hawaii Newspaper Index

Hawaii News Websites

Honolulu Community College Library
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: honcclib@hawaii.edu Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library