Skip to main content

Women's Studies: Articles

Library and web resources for women's studies coursework.

Research Databases - Find Articles

Before you Google, try a library database!

Online Magazines

LGBTQ Magazines

These print magazine subscriptions are located in the library. The two most recent issues are on the magazine rack; back issues may be requested at the Circulation Counter.

The Advocate magazine - The U.S. based national gay and lesbian news magazine, includes gay news, LGBT rights, politics and entertainment.

 

Out magazine - A gay and lesbian perspective on style, entertainment, fashion, the arts, politics, culture, and the world at large.

Academic Search Complete database

The following journals and magazines can be accessed via the ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE database:

  • Differences: A Journal of Feminist Cultural Studies
  • Feminist Studies
  • Frontiers: A Journal of Women Studies
  • Gender & Behavior
  • Gender & Education
  • Gender & History
  • Gender Issues
  • Gender, Work & Organization
  • Journal of Gender Studies
  • Journal of Women's History
  • Meridians: Feminism, Race, Transnationalism
  • Psychology of Women Quarterly
  • Sexualities, Evolution & Gender
  • Studies in Gender & Sexuality
  • Women
  • Women's Studies

Selected full text coverage varies by publication. Please contact a reference librarian if you need assistance with your research.

Discover the difference between journals & magazines. [2:10]

Magazine vs. Journal...What's the difference?

MAGAZINES JOURNALS
Its purpose is to inform or entertain Its aim is to report on scholarly research
Articles typically short in length Longer articles with in-depth analysis
Written by a reporter, journalist, or staff writer Written by a scholarly expert or specialist (credentials provided)
Articles are reviewed by editorial staff Articles are peer-reviewed & critically evaluated by scholars
Little or no references are included as support Sources are always cited in a formal bibliography
Slick & attractive in appearance with advertisements & glossy photos Very structured format: abstract, methodology, literature review, results, conclusion. No frills.
Examples: People, National Geographic, Reader's Digest Examples: Young Children, New England Journal of Medicine, Harvard Business Review

Google News - Women & Gender

Loading
Honolulu Community College Library
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: honcclib@hawaii.edu Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library