Skip to main content

Vietnam War: Find Articles

This course guide for HIST246 will assist students in finding available library resources in print and online.

Find articles in library databases

Before you Google, begin your research with the library's subscription databases. These databases will help you locate full text  journal, magazine, and newspaper articles.

REPORT - Vietnam War

The 24-page CQ Researcher report below covers important information on the legacy of the Vietnam War.

Legacy of the Vietnam War

Search Tips!

Each library database may provide varying options for searching its content. Here are some useful tips...

  • Limit your searches to FULL TEXT articles. EBSCO & InfoTrac databases allow you to limit your searches to full text content...be sure to select the correct "check box."
  • Start your research with KEYWORDS, then see what SUBJECT TERMS or DESCRIPTORS are actually assigned to specific articles. Many databases use a controlled vocabulary of subject terms when indexing an article. Look for these terms and write them down; redo your search with the subject terms and notice how refined your results have become. Keyword searches give you flexibility; subject term searches find results with greater relevance.

Journal & Newspaper Indexes

More often than not, the easiest way to locate journal or newspaper articles is through online databases.
So, why use a print index? Because there are many in-depth articles that are NOT available online. Most library databases provide indexing and/or full text access to articles dating back only to the mid-1980s. If you are doing historical research and need support materials that go farther back, it may be necessary to use a print index for the specified period of time you are researching.

  • Index to the Honolulu Advertiser and Honolulu Star-Bulletin - Subject and keyword access to news articles from the Advertiser and Star-Bulletin. Online access is available to the index from 1929-1967 (vol. 1-5) and 1968/1969 from the link above.
    Print indexes: 1968/1969, 1970-1984, 1985/1986-1989/1990, 1991/1992-1993/1994.
  • Hawaii Newspaper Index - Index to articles in the Honolulu Star-Bulletin and the Honolulu Advertiser, courtesy of the Hawaii State Public Library System. Please note that this is an index only -- no full-text. Coverage: 1989 to present year.
  • Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature - An author and subject index to selected general interest periodicals. This print index is located in the index reference area on the 1st floor of the HCC Library. Print indexes: March 1966-2001 (Vol. 26-61).
    Noteworthy periodicals indexed in the Reader's Guide: American Heritage, Atlantic, New Republic, Newsweek, Time, U.S. News & World Report and more.
  • Hawaii Pacific Journal Index - HPJI is an index, via Hawaii Voyager, to articles about Hawaii and the Pacific, and to magazines and journals published in these areas. (Select "Hawaii Pacific Journal Index" from the Databases & Indexes menu.) Note: Advanced Search is recommended.
  •  

    Other archived publications...

    • The New York Times at UH Manoa: Hamilton Library and Leeward Community Colllege Library [print and microfilm]
    • The New York Times Article Archive - Search the NY Times article archive: 1851-present. Articles are free back to 1987. Articles in the Public Domain (1851-1922) are also free. Full text articles (outside of the dates listed) can be purchased directly from the website.
    • The Honolulu Advertiser: January 1929 - March 15, 2010 [MICROFILM]
    • Honolulu Star-Bulletin: January 1929 - February 2010 [MICROFILM]
    • Life Magazine: 1967 - 1970 [MICROFILM] 
    • The Nation: 1967 - 1990 [MICROFILM]
    • The New Yorker: 1967 - 1991 [MICROFILM]
    • Newsweek: 1967 - 1995 [MICROFILM]
    • Time: 1967 - 1999 [MICROFILM]
    • U.S. News & World Report: 1967 - 1995 [MICROFILM]

    For assistance with locating microfilm or use of the microfilm machine, please inquire at the Reference Desk.

     

Honolulu Community College Library
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: honcclib@hawaii.edu Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library