Skip to main content

CITING YOUR SOURCES: Chicago Style

Resources to help you properly cite using MLA, APA, and other style formats.

CHICAGO STYLE GUIDE

Chicago Style Guide & Examples, 16th Edition

This guide provides examples of the Notes and Bibliographies citation style for Chicago.  If you need to use the Author-Date Reference citation style, please use The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th Edition, available in the library.

Citations are done in the form of notes (endnotes or footnotes) within the document and with a bibliography at the end of the document. Alphabetize entries in the bibliography. 

Citing Books with One Author

Note

   1.  Firstname Lastmane, Title of Book (Place of publication: Publisher, Year

of publication), page number.

   1. Mary Shelley, Frankenstein (New York: Bantam, 2003), 41.

Bibliography

Lastname, Firstname. Title of Book. Place of publication: Publisher, Year of

     publication.

Shelley, Mary. Frankenstein. New York: Bantam, 2003.


Citing Books with Multiple Authors

Note

    1.  Firstname Lastmane and Firstname Lastname, Title of Book (Place of

publication: Publisher, Year of publication), page number.

    1. Steven Emerson and John Hedges, Chemical Oceanography and the Marine

Carbon Cycle (Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2008), 18.

Bibliography

Lastname, Firstname and Firstname Lastname. Title of Book. Place of publication:

    Publisher, Year of publication.

Emerson, Steven and John Hedges. Chemical Oceanography and the Marine

    Carbon Cycle. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2008.


Citing Journals Articles, Print

Note

   1.  Firstname Lastname, "Title of Article," Title of Periodical volume number,

issue number (Year of publication): Page(s).

   1. Kaye McLelland, "Toward a Bisexual Shakespeare: The Social Importance of

Specifically Bisexual Readings of Shakespeare," Journal of Bisexuality 11, no. 2/3

(2011): 350.

Bibliography

Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Periodical volume number, issue

     number (Year of publication): page range of article.

McLelland, Kaye. "Toward a Bisexual Shakespeare: The Social Importance of

     Specifically Bisexual Readings of Shakespeare." Journal of Bisexuality 11, no.

    2/3 (2011): 346-361.


Citing Journal Articles, Online (with a  DOI or URL)

Note

   1.  Firstname Lastname, "Title of Article," Title of Periodical volume number,

issue number (Year of publication): Page(s), DOI or URL.

   1. Kaye McLelland, "Toward a Bisexual Shakespeare: The Social Importance of

Specifically Bisexual Readings of Shakespeare," Journal of Bisexuality 11, no. 2/3

(2011): 350, doi: 10.1080/15299716.2011.572020.

Bibliography

Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Periodical volume number, issue

     number (Year of publication): page range of article. Date accessed (Month Day

     Year). DOI or URL.

McLelland, Kaye "Toward a Bisexual Shakespeare: The Social Importance of

     Specifically Bisexual Readings of Shakespeare." Journal of Bisexuality 11,

     no. 2/3 (2011): 346-361. doi: 10.1080/15299716.2011.572020.


Citing Magazine Articles, Print

Note

   1.  Firstname Lastname, "Title of Article," Title of Magazine, Month & Year

of publication: Page(s).

   1. Rob Dunn, "Singing Mice," Smithsonian, May 2011: 20-22.

Bibliography

Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Month & Year of

     Publication.

Dunn, Rob. "Singing Mice." Smithsonian, May 2011.


Citing Magazine Articles, Online (with a  DOI or URL)

Note

     1.  Firstname Lastname, "Title of Article," Title of Magazine, Month &

Year of publication, URL or DOI.

     1. Rob Dunn, "Singing Mice," Smithsonian, May 2011, 20,

http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=f5h&AN=

60122364&site=ehost-live&user=hcc&password=plin.

Bibliography

Lastname, Firstname. "Title of Article." Title of Magazine, Month & Year

     of Publication, URL or DOI.

Dunn, Rob. "Singing Mice." Smithsonian May 2011. http://search.

     ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=f5h&AN=60122364&

     site=ehost-live&user=hcc&password=plin.


Citing Newspaper Articles, Print

Note

     1.  Firstname Lastname, "Headline or Column Heading," Title of

Newspaper (City, State Abbreviation), Month Date, Year.

     1. Rick Barboza, "In the Garden," Honolulu Star - Bulletin (Honolulu, HI),

June 06, 2008.

Bibliography

Lastname, Firstname. "Headline or Column Heading." Title of Newspaper

     (City, State Abbreviation), Month Date, Year.

Barboza, Rick. "In the Garden." Honolulu Star - Bulletin (Honolulu, HI), June 06,

      2008.


Citing Newspaper Articles, Online

Note

     1.  Firstname Lastname, "Headline or Column Heading," Title of

Newspaper (City, State Abbreviation), Month Date, Year, URL.

     1. Rick Barboza, "In the Garden," Honolulu Star - Bulletin (Honolulu, HI),

June 06, 2008, http://search.proquest.com/docview/412413023?accountid=66155.

Bibliography

Lastname, Firstname. "Headline or Column Heading." Title of Newspaper

      (City, State Abbreviation), Month Date, Year. URL.

Barboza, Rick. "In the Garden." Honolulu Star - Bulletin (Honolulu, HI), June

       06, 2008. http://search.proquest.com/docview/412413023?accountid=66155.


Websites

Note

    1. Firstname Lastname, “Title of Web Page,” Publishing Organization or Name

of Web Site in Italics, publication date and/or access date if available, URL.

    1. "Solar System," NASA, last modified October 4, 2011, accessed October 4,

2011, http://www.nasa.gov/topics/solarsystem/index.html.

Bibliography

Lastname, Firstname. “Title of Web Page.” Publishing Organization or

    Name of Web Site in Italics. Publication date and/or access date if

     available. URL.

"Solar System." NASA. Last modified October 4, 2011. Accessed October 4, 2011.

       http://www.nasa.gov/topics/solarsystem/index.html.

 

Indent the first line of the Notes citation and the second line of the Bibliography citation.  Refer to the library's Chicago Style Guide at the top of this page for more information and examples.

 

Rev. June 7, 2012

Need to check your citations? Use the Chicago Manual!

Chicago Citation Help Links

Need more help understanding how to cite using Chicago style?
Honolulu Community College Library
874 Dillingham Boulevard, Honolulu, HI 96817
Email: honcclib@hawaii.edu Web: http://honolulu.hawaii.edu/library