Covers General Motors and Ford light trucks, vans, and passenger cars: from simple maintenance to major repairs, with step-by-step Instructions, illustrations, and tools and equipment. Haynes Techbook series.
The Academic Complete collection contains over 70,000 ebooks from 16 key subject areas. All ebooks are readable online from a single easy-to-use interface & download ebrary content onto various devices.
*If you access e-books from off-campus, you will need to login with you UH username and password.
What makes it possible for us to move billions of tons of raw materials and manufactured goods from continent to continent? Why are we able to fly almost anywhere on the planet within twenty-four hours? The massive diesel engines that power cargo ships and the gas turbines that propel jet engines! Author Vaclav Smil provides a history of the high-compression non-sparking internal combustion engines invented by Rudolf Diesel and the gas turbines designed by Frank Whittle and Hans-Joachim Pabst von Ohain.
Examines all stages of fuel production and explains the role of fuel-additives in the production cycle. Exploreing chemical structures and properties, this book sheds new light on the current science and technology of producing energy efficient and environmentally friendly fuels. Includes automotive emissions, fuel quality and specifications, alternate fuels, biofuels, antioxidants, deposit control detergents/dispersants, stabilizers, corrosion inhibitors, and polymeric fuel-additives.
Comprehensive full-text coverage plus indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886. Over 3,800 full-text journals; more than 3,700 SWOT analyses.
Comprehensive, full-text publications for vocational programs. This unique database covers varied topics geared toward career & technical education programs. Source content from magazines, academic journals, and a wide selection of trade publications in all vocational fields and occupations.
Provides access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. The database offers current and applicable content from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.
A full text database with content that focuses on home improvement and home repair. Includes: outdoor projects, electrical projects, remodeling projects, plumbing projects, wood projects, decorating projects and maintenance.
This resource is a web-based digital video delivery service that allows you to view streaming videos anytime, anywhere, 24/7. Choose from more than 25,000 educational titles in dozens of subject areas.
2.5 million rights-cleared images for non-commercial and educational use from Britannica.
Textbooks on Reserve
Copies of DISLtextbooks are on Reserve at the Circulation Counter. Generally, these textbooks may be checked out with a UH ID card for up to 2 hours and must be used within the Library.
Fundamentals of Medium/Heavy Duty Diesel Engines
by Gus Wright, CDX Automotive Staff
Publication Date: 2017
Based on the 2014 National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation (NATEF) Medium/Heavy Truck Tasks Lists and ASE Certification Test Series for truck and bus specialists, Fundamentals of Medium/Heavy Duty Diesel Engines is designed to address these and other international training standards. The text offers comprehensive coverage of every NATEF task. It describes safe and effective diagnostic, repair, and maintenance procedures for today's medium and heavy vehicle diesel engines, including the most current, relevant, and practical coverage of HD-OBD emission diagnostics.
Fundamentals of Medium-Heavy Duty Commercial Vehicle Systems
by Owen C. Duffy, Gus Wright, CDX Automotive Staff
Publication Date: 2016
Based on the 2014 National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation (NATEF) Medium/Heavy Truck Tasks Lists and ASE Certification Test Series for truck and bus specialists, Fundamentals of Medium/Heavy Duty Commercial Vehicle Systems is designed to address these and other international training standards. The text offers comprehensive coverage of every NATEF task. It describes safe and effective diagnostic, repair, and maintenance procedures for today's medium and heavy vehicle chassis systems, including the most current, relevant, and practical coverage of automated transmissions, braking system technology used in vehicle stability, collision avoidance, and new stopping distance standards, plus hybrid drive powertrains, advanced battery technologies, and on-board vehicle networks and integrated chassis electrical control systems.
Medium/Heavy Truck Tasksheet Manual for NATEF Proficiency,
by CDX Automotive
Publication Date: 2017
The Medium/Heavy Truck Tasksheet Manual for NATEF Proficiency, 2014 NATEF Edition is designed to guide students through the tasks necessary to meet National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation (NATEF) requirements for Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) certification. Based on the 2014 NATEF Medium/Heavy Truck Tasks Lists, this manual will assist students in demonstrating hands-on performance and proficiency in fundamentals, diagnosis, service, and repair of medium and heavy vehicles. It can also serve as a personal portfolio of documented experience for prospective employment.